Teri Carden

Thoughts from a Newb…

In Work and Play on August 15, 2010 at 11:09 pm

It would take the worlds  tectonic plates rubbing together and forcing California into the Pacific to keep me away from my first American Society of Association Executives Annual Conference.  Here’s why I’m excited:

Number 1.  I get to be the attendee for once!  The Florida Society of Association Executives holds its annual meeting in July every year.  The staff takes a reprieve during the semi calm month of August before gearing up for planning of the next year’s conference and Winter events.  What a treat to rejuvenate and brainstorm new ideas at ASAE’s Annual.  FSAE puts on a great program for the Florida association world so I can only imagine that the national level is quite intense.  The caliber of experts and speakers that I will get to experience in the coming days are unprecedented in my infantile 2.5 years of association work and I am for lack of a better word, pumped!

Number 2.  I get to meet and hang with many of my Twitter colleagues.  I gain useful resources, I laugh out loud, collaborate, and share with many association professionals across the world that I have yet to even meet in person.  So, if we’ve shaken virtual hands, I won’t find you crude or creepy if you just walk up to me and say, “I follow you” and extend your in-real-life hand.

Number 3.  The unknown.  I have my goals set and my schedule completely mapped from the time I arrive on Saturday morning until I leave on Wednesday.  However, I am one that partakes in those spontaneous things of life and can’t wait for that unexpected idea to hit, that unforeseen conversation to happen or that unpredictable entertainment to impress.

Number 4.   I truly mean it when I say that I hope that upon my return, my fellow staff, boards and members find me revitalized, armed with good ideas and better prepared for our organizations future.

Number 5.  In the case of the plate tectonic shift, I know that an UnAnnual will form (thanks in advance @maddiegrant and @lindydreyer), and I will join in and still be able to accomplish all of the above.

I know there are many more reasons to be excited about attending, but for now those are the thoughts of a newb.  I hope my excitement is contagious to seasoned attendees.  For those readers attending, safe travels and cheers to an awesome event.  Can’t wait!

@FSAE, #ASAE10, @ASAEcenter, #YAPstar, #ASAE10flashmob

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ashley Hodak, FL Soc of Assn Execs. FL Soc of Assn Execs said: RT @TeriTally: "Thoughts from a Newb…" http://ow.ly/2pXMB @FSAE #ASAE10 @ASAEcenter […]

  2. I can’t wait for this event either. I hope to meet you there in person!

  3. […] Carden shares her excitement about her first ASAE Annual. I can vouch that the excitement continues to increase even when it’s your second time. One of […]

  4. I love this, Teri! Last year was my first ASAE Annual Meeting and it was pretty overwhelming … But I feel like more of a member of the community this year, and I can’t wait to meet everyone in person!

Leave a Reply

